Do you have enough of God to tell others about Him?

“Many of the Samaritans from that town believed in him because of the woman’s testimony.” John 4:39

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: John 2-4.

This was not about someone going to the mission field nor was this about someone bringing folks to a revival service. This was localized and spontaneous evangelism.

And was it ever productive! Many in the town in which this woman lived encountered Jesus because of her.

As a believer I am assigned to do as she did. I cannot decide that it is the job of others to spread the good word about Jesus.

And why then don’t I do what she did? I fear that it relates to pride as well as to my level of godliness.

Pride? I don’t want to be made sport of because of something religious I might say. People may shun me. People may mock me.

Level of godliness? I am not saturated enough with Him that there is any overflow to put on others. I know Him, love Him, but am not filled with Him.

The Samaritan woman didn’t concern herself with any of this. What she did was spontaneous. Think of Jeremiah 20:9 – “But if I say, ‘I will not mention his word or speak anymore in his name,’ his word is in my heart like a fire, a fire shut up in my bones. I am weary of holding it in; indeed, I cannot.”

“Fill me Lord to that Jeremiah 20:9 level. Wipe out any and all obstacles that prevent me from spontaneously witnessing about You. You have done so many good things for me. You have given me the assurance of an after-life with You. Prepare those in my midst today and empower me to rightly represent You among them. I love You, Father.”

What sort of witness are you?

+11 – Progress

02-07-15 sunrise colors at 367

Leave a comment

Filed under John

Comments are closed.