Keep busy

“As long as it is day, we must do the works of him who sent me. Night is coming, when no one can work.” John 9:4

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: John 9-11.

This was Jesus speaking.

Jesus is always our role model. What He did we must, in His strength, attempt to also do.

We have no sense of the length of our time on earth. If we did, we could pace ourselves. But that isn’t the case. Our ending could be seconds or years away.

If I have just tonight left on earth, what would I do? I doubt I would be doing what I have planned!

The Holy Spirit that lives within me, must have complete control of me.

This week I read, “The Practice of the Presence of God,” by Brother Lawrence. I remember reading it many years ago and passing it off as a lifestyle only someone in a monastery could live. After my recent second read through, I am not as certain that absolute surrender to God is not impossible.

I have tried lately to practice God’s presence on a more full-time basis and it is not easy. I wanted to cut down the amount of time that I am unaware of the Holy Spirit being within me. Sadly, I find that my life has many pulls away from the Holy Spirit, each of which demands my full attention.

I have to bring the Holy Spirit into everything I do. Too often I have exited my relationship to the Holy Spirit within, as I enter into an activity. Living that way exits me from Him for far too much time.

“Lord, I thank You that You live within me. I love You. I want to live every second aware of You and Your Will. Help me, Lord. I am weak and easily led off course. Guide me, O thou great Jehovah. I love You, Lord.”

Can you give the Holy Spirit within you your full-time attention?

+10 – Progress

hwfm-August-22

Leave a comment

Filed under John

Comments are closed.