In the Spirit

“Moved by the Spirit, he went into the temple courts.” Luke 2:27

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Genesis 3-5 & Luke 2.

Looking to have God lead you?

Am I open to God’s leading? Can He reach me? Can He get my attention?

What keeps me from being “moved by the Spirit” as Simeon was in this verse?

God knows all about me. I can claim certain things but He knows the truth about me. He knows what I watch. He knows what I’m thinking. He knows if I am leadable. Simeon apparently was. He was described several verses earlier as “devout” and “righteous.” This was no part-time believer.

I must be right in God’s sight. I must arrange my life so that I can practice God’s presence completely. That is no easy thing to do. Don’t think so? Try it. Our minds are so cluttered with distractions that being totally God conscious is nearly impossible for any length of time. But it is where I/we need to be.

The Holy Spirit is within the believer. We don’t have to call for Him or invite Him to us. We, instead, have to recognize His presence and aspire to have Him in complete charge of who we are and what we do.

“O Lord, I give You charge over me. Interact with me. Prick my conscience when I am off course. Forgive me for my waywardness. Wash me and I will be whiter than snow. I want to rightly represent You wherever I am. I love You, Father.”

Who do you follow?

Tomorrow is weigh-in day.

hwfm-November-3

Leave a comment

Filed under Luke

Comments are closed.