Selectively neighborly

“And who is my neighbor?” Luke 10:29

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Genesis 25-26 & Psalm 6 & Luke 10.

Picking and choosing when to be Godly won’t cut it.

My Godliness must be spontaneous.

In the parable about the good Samaritan, it was the Samaritan who was spontaneously Godly.

The Samaritan didn’t set out on that day planning to help a stranger in distress. He just did it spontaneously as the situation came to his attention.

How bound am I to my schedule? Will I deviate if a needy individual comes into my midst?

The Pharisees misread the Old Testament and thought that they had a right to hate their enemies. Jesus taught that we had to love everyone. The questioner in verse 29 probably realized the inconsistency in loving everyone and also hating one’s enemies.

The teaching here is that we are to care for anyone we can help. We don’t sort out our help based on the qualities of the needy. It is their need that we must respond to.

We must love even if for no logical reason other than to keep the commands of the God we love. He will figure out the bigger picture. We just need to be full-time willing.

“Lord, thank You for Your Word. Thank You for the teachings therein. Fill me with You so that I have the ongoing abilities to see needs and rightly respond to them. I love You, Father.”

Do you help others on your schedule or God’s schedule?

+10 – better

hw-1

Leave a comment

Filed under Luke

Comments are closed.