Be filled with His Light

“Your eye is the lamp of your body. When your eyes are healthy, your whole body also is full of light. But when they are unhealthy, your body also is full of darkness. See to it, then, that the light within you is not darkness. Therefore, if your whole body is full of light, and no part of it is dark, it will be just as full of light as when a lamp shines its light on you.” Luke 11:34-36

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Genesis 25-26 & Psalm 4 & Luke 11.

My life must be fully surrendered to God. That is always the bottom line for me spiritually.

Within these verses is a direct warning to me: Make sure what I think is “light” actually is light.

It is easy for me to assume that God is in charge of my life………….during the calm times. The Big Three (thoughts, words, and deeds) are nicely in play. But way too often, this close spirituality is a myth. It is foundationless.

The instant I think that I have things going the way God would want them going I am a mini-step from falling into a pit of my own making. Why? Because I have let go of God’s leading and foolishly taken the reins of my life myself.

I will not get it right. That so-called light within me is darkness in God’s view. My righteousness is filthy rags.

I must be filled with His Light. I must be directed to His Thoughts, Words, and Deeds. Will I ever learn this??

I was so inspired by Brother Lawrence’s “Practicing the Presence of God.” I want that relationship yet contriving it won’t get it done. I must surrender to God’s illumination. I must cling to Him in calm as well as calamity. And I must be doing these things non-stop.

“O God, the past betrays me. I am so often self-lit. I wander away from You in a moment. I am Your wayward child. Thankfully, You still love me. Forgive me. I reconnect to You. Prick my conscience when my grip slackens. I want discomfort when I am tempted to cling to counterfeit gods. Help me, Father, I beg!”

Are you God-lit or self-lit?

+11 – Pizza AFTER supper?

hw-2

Leave a comment

Filed under Luke

Comments are closed.