What are you living for?

“But seek his kingdom, and these things will be given to you as well.” Luke 12:31

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Genesis 29-30 & Luke 12.

Are you spending most of your time seeking food, clothing, and pleasure?

If you are a believer it shouldn’t be that way.

Today’s chosen verse commands the believer to seek to do God will. If we do our part then He promises to provide us with the food, clothing, and pleasure that we need.

This is about living on God’s terms. It certainly is the opposite of how the godless live.

The godless seek happiness in food, clothing, and pleasure. They think that if I have this or that then I will be happy. But it doesn’t work and never has.

That sort of happiness has an expiration date on it. The happiness God gives is for now as well as in the after-life.

One of the great fears of the unbeliever is that becoming a believer will take all the fun out of life. It just ain’t so!

Trusting God, cushions the anxieties of life. There is Someone to lean on. There is Someone to talk with.

My life must be driven to please God. “What does He want me doing or not doing?” That must be my constant question and my willingness to follow His leading must come right after it.

“Lord, I need Your leadership. I cannot get it right without You. Forgive me for seeking counterfeit gods. I want You in charge. You have taken great care of me. I have so much, thanks to You. Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

Are you spending all your time chasing counterfeit gods?

+12 – The answer should have been, “No!!,” to that coffee roll………but it wasn’t.

hw-3

Leave a comment

Filed under Luke

Comments are closed.