God sees your sin and still wants a relationship with you if you’re willing

“All the people saw this and began to mutter, ’He has gone to be the guest of a sinner.’” Luke 19:7

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Genesis 47-48 & Psalm 10 & Luke 19.

Zacchaeus was not the type of person most people would hang with. Yet Jesus wanted the tax collector’s company.

You get the sense of how offensive a character Zacchaeus was with the word “All” in the beginning of verse 7. Yet Jesus wanted the tax collector’s company.

We have no right to think that God doesn’t know what He’s doing. Yet how often do we think that way. “Why did God let me lose my job?” That’s second-guessing the Creator, isn’t it?

An important piece here is that I must be in God’s Will. If I am intentionally in His Will, then I am able to go with the flow of what comes along.

When I am doing my own thing, there is every reason that I should blame myself, not God, when things fall apart.

Jesus died for sinners and we’re all sinners. Those offended by Jesus keeping company with a sinner have forgotten that we are all sinners. There are no grades of sinners. One sin gets you in the “club.”

This story encourages us to pray for others. We can’t be selectively putting people beyond God’s reach. He can intervene wherever He chooses.

One of my favorite verses is Ezra 1:1, “The Lord moved the heart of Cyrus King of Persia.” Cyrus was probably the most powerful individual on earth at the time. Was he beyond God’s reach? No way! So those in our midst who are godless can be and should be prayed for. Never forget that the Great God can intervene in their lives. There is no doubt that God is capable.

“Lord, forgive me for limiting You. You are omnipotent. Thank You for loving me, an undeserving sinner. In Your Mercy and Grace, a way was given me to have an after-life with You. Thank You. Thank You.”

Admitting that you’re a sinner and are willing to repent are two important steps to arranging an after-life with God.

+9 – still steady

hwfm-1-geese-in-formation

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Luke

Comments are closed.