Stay with God no matter what

“But I cry to you for help, Lord; in the morning my prayer comes before you.” Psalm 88:13

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Exodus 1-2, Psalm 88, and Luke 21.

Psalm 88 is very depressing.

So many of the psalms start out with misery complaints and then evolve later into praise for God. Not Psalm 88! It is darkness from beginning to end.

But in the midst of the psalm is today’s chosen verse. It is significant, to me, because this verse is surrounded by discouraging details.

It is almost as if the psalmist realized mid-stream that some readers might be getting ready to pull away from God based on what he’s written so far. Therefore, he inserts that he is still connect to God. And then he goes on to give more discouraging details.

My circumstances CANNOT change my relationship to God. If my relationship to God fluctuates then I am nothing but a seasonal believer.

Sometimes looseness with God comes during good times. For some reason an assumption is made that God isn’t needed as much then. In fact, I may need Him more then! Why? I can slide into thinking that I can function rightly in my own strength and begin to live independent of Him.

Sometimes looseness with God comes during bad times. In those times, I opt for lesser gods for help. For some reason I envision by my action that the trouble I’m facing is above and beyond God’s capabilities to solve. Somehow I act as if He’s far away……He’s not!

“Lord, I need You always. Forgive me for chasing lesser gods. Forgive me for moving away from You. You are the great God. You know me. You know what I need. Direct me, this day, to Your Path. I yield to You. Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

How is clinging to lesser gods going for you?

+9 – steady

hw-1

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm

Comments are closed.