Trusting God in the sunset years

“But Moses said to the Lord, ‘Since I speak with faltering lips, why would Pharaoh listen to me?’” Exodus 6:30

“Moses and Aaron did just as the Lord commanded them. Moses was eighty years old and Aaron eighty-three when they spoke to Pharaoh.” Exodus 7:6-7

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Exodus 6-8 and Luke 23.

Moses was very uncertain about what God wanted him to do. “I can’t speak.” “I could say the wrong thing.” “I could make things worse for the Israelites.”

But somehow, five verses later we read that Moses and his brother did just what God wanted. Within the five attitude-changing verses we read that God told the duo exactly what they were to do and what the results would be.

The uncertainty seemed to vanish and the brothers rode with God through the up-and-downs ahead with Pharaoh.

Note of the ages of Moses and Aaron when they first approached Pharaoh. They were in their eighties. I know that folks lived longer in their day but they weren’t young by any estimation.

My life doesn’t have to come to a spiritual end because I am older. If I am willing to do whatever God wants me to do, and I am tuned in to Him to catch what He wants from me, He will use me.

I know so little of God’s Ways. Therefore, I must cling to Him if I want to rightly represent Him. There must be no walking alone. I have His Holy Spirit within me. I must let His Presence overwhelm me into right living.

“O Lord, there is nothing You can’t do. And there is no Godly person that You cannot use. I open myself up to You. Correct me and direct me this day. I long to rightly represent You in all things. Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

God will use committed believers in His work on earth.  Are you available?

+9 – Wrong direction.

ice-floes-on-the-water's-edge

Leave a comment

Filed under Exodus

Comments are closed.