What a fool I am!

“The fool says in his heart, ‘There is no God.’” Psalm 14:1

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Exodus 23-24, Psalm 14, and Acts 5.

Who are we kidding?

God knows what is going on. He’s omnipresent.

How dare we act as if He doesn’t exist. How dare we act as if He is not all-important.

Yet we do it. Sometimes it’s full-time and other times it’s temporary.

How easy it is to judge harshly those who insist that God either doesn’t exist or isn’t a major player in what goes on in the world. But what about us? Aren’t there times when we live as if God doesn’t exist? Times when we doubt Him? Times when we ignore Him as if He didn’t exist?

I frequently write about times in my life where I get the “horse” and the “cart” mixed up. I set out doing something and then try to squeeze God into the activity. How can I possibly expect God’s blessing with that arrangement? I have become the fool who denies God’s rightful place in his life.

My life must be full-time, close to God. I must be constantly seeking Him. I must be constantly alert to the “Good Samaritan” opportunities He brings into my life.

The Christian life is easy when I avoid acting like a fool.

“Lord, You know me and yet love me. Forgive me for thinking/behaving as if You don’t exist. I know that You do. I know that You died for my heaven-separating sins. I long to please You in everything I do. Alert me to Your Ways. I love You, Father!”

We are all fools.  How?  We ignore God.

+9 – Gains in the wrong direction.

four-in-the-cloud

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm, Psalms

Comments are closed.