Being worthy

“Who may ascend the mountain of the Lord? Who may stand in his holy place? The one who has clean hands and a pure heart, who does not trust in an idol or swear by a false god.” Psalm 24:3-4

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Leviticus 23-24, Psalm 24, and Acts 21.

Let’s get this straight right from the get go: I am never going to be “worthy” on the basis of anything I do.

Why not? I am a sinner and always will be.

Worthy? Never on my own but I become worthy because of what Jesus did for me.

What did He do? He died for my sins. My sins past, present, and future. They’re all gone.

I am worthy because He took the punishment I deserved. I believe I needed Him to do that and I accept what He did for me.

I want to be in God’s presence. I want to know what He wants me to do. Why? Because I love Him for dying for me. I love Him for taking care of me. I love Him for the future with Him that He has promised.

My part now? To live a Godly life. To do everything He wants me to do.

When I am in right relationship to Him I can come before Him ready to receive what He has for me.

He knows all about me, so my words aren’t enough. My heart and my actions have to be aligned to His bidding.

“Lord, I want Your Presence. I want to be able to connect to You full-time. Forgive me for ever thinking that You are unaware. I know that You know everything. Cleanse me, I pray. Cleanse my hands and purify my heart, I beg.”

You are not worthy of God on your own.  You need to accept what He did for you to become worthy.

+7 – steady

f14

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm

Comments are closed.