Nevertheless

“Nevertheless, in their presumption they went up toward the highest point in the hill country, though neither Moses nor the ark of the Lord’s covenant moved from the camp.” Numbers 14:44.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Numbers 14-16, and Mark 3.

The Israelites disobeyed God and He threatened to extinguish them. Moses interceded and their lives were spared.

The Israelites had bought into the report from ten of the twelve explorers and feared moving ahead into Canaan. Moses was the fall guy and their solution was to have Moses stoned. Moses stepped in before God extinguished them.

With that behind them, the Israelites decide that they will now go ahead and go into Canaan. Too late. They had had their chance and God now had other plans for them. But there’s that pesky, “Nevertheless.”

Rather than doing things God’s way, they chose to go it without Him.

Are you surprised that their attempt was a total disaster? Shouldn’t be.

God wants me doing His Things on His Schedule. I can choose my own way and on my own schedule but I’m on my own. In this story, there could be no blaming of Moses for the disaster. He directly warned them not to go ahead into Canaan.

What makes us operate apart from God? We underestimate Him. We envision Him as our celestial buddy. That’s not Who God really is.

He is almighty. He blocks rivers. He brings down lightning. The things He does are beyond cataloging!

And then there’s us: feeble, wayward, independent. We need to know our “place” in the world that God has placed us. We must live dependent on Him. We don’t know the “right” way on our own. We must be FOLLOWING Him not choosing the way ourselves and inviting Him to join us.

“Lord, forgive me for choosing and then consulting You. I need Your leadership 24/7. Your Ways must be my ways. Direct me. Get in my head, I beg. Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

Your Godliness is a ruse if He is not leading you 24/7.

+6 – progress

f24

Leave a comment

Filed under Numbers

Comments are closed.