Are you afraid to leave your comfort zone?

“When they came to Jesus, they saw the man who had been possessed by the legion of demons, sitting there, dressed and in his right mind; and they were afraid.” Mark 5:15.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Numbers 19-20, Psalm 28, and Mark 5.

Jesus was not overwhelmed by the demon-possessed man. Jesus knew the problem and He knew the solution.

Evil is in the world. Not sure? Watch the news. Most of what you’ll see is the result of a world dominated by the forces of Satan.

Jesus came to make things better but sometimes “better” involved the unexpected.

The folks in today’s story would have agreed that finding a cure for the wild man in the graveyard would be a good thing. But in this story, in Mark 5, we find out that the village folks were first of all afraid and then they wanted Jesus to leave the area. No evidence of rejoicing.

What happened? They were uncomfortable with Jesus. They saw His powers as great enough to cure someone but also capable of doing damage to them.

The village folks saw power that was obviously out of control. Why? Those pigs wouldn’t have been destroyed by someone in control of what they were doing.

To these folks, the wild man from the tombs, even before he was healed, was less dangerous to them than Jesus. The wild man was confined and the folks knew all about what he did. Jesus was out of their control. What might He do next? Instead of being overwhelmed to their knees in thankfulness, they were sure instead that He be told to leave.

My ways are not God’s Ways. Do I have parts of me that I refuse to let Him into because I fear what might happen? That’s what the village folks did.

The village folks in this story had seen two examples of what happens when Jesus comes into an area. Not knowing what good/bad (in their opinion) might happen next caused them to prevent any future plans Jesus might have had for them from happening.

“Lord, I give You complete control of my life. Forgive me for resisting the changes You want me to make. I have seen snippets of what You are capable of. You are amazing. Change my life where it needs changing. Fill me with You. Prick my conscience when I mess things up so that I can make corrections. Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

If your life belongs to God then the changes that come will work together for good either now or later.

+6 steady

f26

Leave a comment

Filed under Mark

Comments are closed.