I’m the needy one ……… and so are you

“When Jesus landed and saw a large crowd, he had compassion on them, because they were like sheep without a shepherd. So he began teaching them many things.” Mark 6:34.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Numbers 21-23, and Mark 6-7.

When I first read this verse my thinking was, “I want to be like Jesus and show compassion on the needy.”

After another reading I changed my arrogant tune. How? I realized that I needed to be part of the needy “crowd” in the story.

To look at myself as a “helper” indicates that I foolishly perceive myself as having something to offer others on my own. I don’t. I must see my own neediness. I will never be one of God’s assistants!

The folks in the Mark 6 story walked miles to get close to Jesus. They were willing to walk as far as it took to be in His Presence.

Certainly a lesson for me: How far will I go to solidify my position near Him? What will I give up? What will I delay doing or having? I need to show passion about being in His Presence.

The other piece to this verse is the reality that Jesus truly cares for us in the crowd. In this story, He had every reason to avoid the crowd. He was tired. It had been a long day and night.

But the God we love saw their neediness. He knew their aches. He knew their pains. He knew what they needed to learn. And so Jesus took time to tell them the things He knew they needed to hear.

I must be willing to follow Him at all costs because He has everything I will ever need. I must be a full-time, following, member of the crowd chasing Him. I must pursue Him with no preconceptions of my own worth apart from Him. I am needy and He has, and is, all that I need.

“Lord, I thank You for the Bible. There are so many stories about how I should live. Help me to internalize Your Truth and live it out in my midst. Help me, God!”

Do you arrogantly believe that you can “help” God?  You are spiritually blind to think that.

My wonderful wife at Plum Island Reserve.

My wonderful wife at Plum Island Reserve.

Leave a comment

Filed under Mark

Comments are closed.