Why do you do good things?

“If I give everything I own to the poor and even go to the stake to be burned as a martyr, but I don’t love, I’ve gotten nowhere. So, no matter what I say, what I believe, and what I do, I’m bankrupt without love.” 1 Corinthians 13:3.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Numbers 24-27, and 1 Corinthians 13.

Some good things we do are instinctive. We don’t measure the consequences because of the suddenness of the need that arises.

Today’s chosen verse is about our motivation when we have time to plan good deeds.  Why do we carry them out?

If we are looking for notice from our peers, then this verse is a stinger. Why? Our deeds are worthless in the sight of God. In the sight of our peers they may appears as wonderful, however.

Ultimately, we must seek to do what He wants in the way He wants us to do it. Could it lead to praise by our peers? Certainly, but that MUST NOT be our motivator.

God must be the one handing out the praise in His own way.

I did some writing on another blog (McClelland Miscellanea) last night and was disappointed that despite sending it via Twitter to various places it hadn’t yet drawn much readership. How spiritually stupid of me!

If my writing was done for Him, then His Praise is ALL I need. Determining how a good deed will be rewarded must be out of my hands. If I’m reaching for peer praise my motivation stinks. I’m embarrassed about it as I write this.

“Lord, forgive me for my faulty motivation. I must do everything out of love for You. If I do something as a response for my love for You then what follows, or doesn’t follow, from it is not my concern. I can rest in You. If I get it wrong, I want my conscience pricked as it has just been. I want to be made aware of my misguidedness so that I can repent and move forward with You. I thank You that You love me. Forgive me for not praising You endlessly. How blind/deaf of me! Take me over, Father, I surely need it.”

If peer praise is what you’re living for you can’t be a serious believer.

+5 progress

f28

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Corinthians

Comments are closed.