Who can be saved?

“The disciples were even more amazed, and said to each other, ‘Who then can be saved?’ Jesus looked at them and said, ‘With man this is impossible, but not with God; all things are possible with God.’” Mark 10:26-27.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Numbers 30-31, and Mark 10.

Jesus had just told the disciples that is was difficult for the wealthy to get to heaven.

In that culture, wealth was an indication of God’s blessing. If you were poor, it was because God was unhappy with you.

Now here’s Jesus saying that wealth was a detriment to reaching heaven. Yes, I guess the disciples would find that amazing!

Heaven is not something I earn. It is something I receive as a gift.

The disciples didn’t realize this because Jesus had not died to provide the new way for believers to reach heaven.

Being good enough or wealthy enough carries no weight on Judgment Day.

What will be important on Judgment Day? During my life on earth did I ever realize that I was a sinner? Did I realize that my sinfulness separated me from an after-life in heaven? Did I realize that Jesus died for my sins and for everyone else’s sins? Did I believe that Jesus died for my sins? Did I realize that His death covered the consequences I deserved for my sinfulness?

If you have the right answers to the questions in the previous paragraph, then you will be in heaven when you die. Death has lost its sting! Hallelujah!

“Lord, I am unworthy of an after-life with You. Yet You provided a way to heaven for me anyhow. What a Saviour! Thank You. Thank You.”

There is NOTHING you can do in this life to EARN heaven in the after-life.

+6  Progress

m3

Leave a comment

Filed under Mark

Comments are closed.