“Moses, would you like some cheese with that whine?”

“You made me do it!”

“Because of you the Lord became angry with me also and said, ‘You shall not enter it, either.’” Deuteronomy 1:37.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Deuteronomy 1-2, and Mark 12.

Doesn’t Moses sound like us: “You made me do it.”

When we read about the heroes of the Bible it is easy to imagine them as faultless. They weren’t.

It is also easy to make the same mistake with the “saints” in our churches. We pedestal them……..and they don’t deserve it.

Many are turned off by believers because they realistically can’t imagine themselves as being as “good” as believers appear to be.

I am not encouraging sinfulness among believers. My point is that we are ALL sinners.

We sin even after you become believers. The difference is that because we believe in God your sins (past/present/future) are forgiven. On the other hand, those sins are held against the unbeliever.

Am I willing to take ownership of my mistakes? Moses clearly made a mistake by whacking the rock (to get water) instead of speaking to the rock. God told him to do one thing and he deliberately chose to do what he wanted to do.

Yes, Moses was angry at the Israelites but he still needed to be in God’s control enough to obey God instead of yielding to his own angry reaction.

I must be tight with God in order to properly react to life’s circumstances. If I get loose from Him then, like Moses, I can lose my cool and do something unfortunate.

“Lord, I cling to You. I need You every second. Prick my conscience if I have moved from You and help me restore our relationship. I love You. You have everything I will ever need. Guide me, O thou great Jehovah!”

Moses is clearly one of us.

+8 holding

m5

Leave a comment

Filed under Deuteronomy

Comments are closed.