Do not over-rate yourself

“You may say to yourself, ‘My power and the strength of my hands have produced this wealth for me.’ But remember the Lord your God, for it is he who gives you the ability to produce wealth.” Deuteronomy 8:17-18.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Deuteronomy 7-9, and Mark 15.

We have not gotten from God what we deserve…..and it’s a good thing!

We can be thankful that God’s love often overrides His Justice.

We’re sinners in the past/present/future. BUT God gives us stuff.

He puts us in positions where we gain advantages.

If I will look back from where I am now, I will see that God enabled me to get here.

A significant fallacy is to believe that my “goodness” forced God to bless me. My so-called goodness is nothing. I do not earn God’s blessing. He chooses to give it to me.

I must remember that my sins warranted my getting eternal separation from God. There was nothing I could do to prevent it. BUT God sent Jesus to suffer for me the consequences of my sinfulness. He became sin for me!

When I receive from God it is a gift. Sometimes that gift is hard to take but for those who trust Him there will be eventual good out of it.

I am still keeping a “Thank You” notebook. Located in a prominent spot, I make short entries in it thanking God for things as the day goes on. It keeps me mindful of some of His blessings. I am very certain that I only catch a very few of what actually comes my way. But it is an attempt to keep me mindful of what He does, and is doing, for me. You might want to try it.

“Lord, I am nothing of value apart from You. I thank You so much for Your blessings to me. Keep me mindful of You. Forgive me for missing You in my daily routines. I thank You for being able to walk. I thank You for part-time work. I thank You for a wife who cares for me and about me. The thank You’s You deserve are endless!”

Every good gift you have ever received has come from God.

+8 slippage

Sunrise May 4th

Leave a comment

Filed under Deuteronomy

Comments are closed.