Are you afraid to tell the truth?

“Am I now trying to win the approval of human beings, or of God? Or am I trying to please people? If I were still trying to please people, I would not be a servant of Christ.” Galatians 1:10.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Deuteronomy 13-15, and Galatians 1.

Are you willing to tell it like it is or are you trying to tell it so that folks will like what you tell?

Paul had been the enemy of the early Christians…….now he was different. Which was the real him?

How was Paul different? Before his intention was to please his fellow Pharisees by persecuting Christians. Now his intention was to please God.

Paul appears not to care what folks thought of him. His intention was to do what God wanted him to say and do.

This is role-model material for believers. If there is a struggle among believers, it is our bent for situational silence. We convince ourselves that “silence is golden,” when we should be speaking up for God.

We hang back because we fear offending folks. Our problem is a lack of faith in the Almighty God.

We are not on the side of a weakling. We are on the side of the Creator of the universe. No power on earth is greater than our God.

Yet when the time comes for us to represent Him in word and/or deed, we pull back. We care more about our reputation among the folks in our midst than we do about rightly representing God.

It is a sad day that this could be the case.

How do we reach the “Paul” level? I think that we must start with the notion that God has to be the driver behind every word and deed that we attempt. Without Him we’ll mess it up. So we must firstly get our relationship to God right.

I am also convinced that we fear things that we aren’t prepared for. I am in the driver-ed business. Some kids fear the road test. Why? Because they aren’t confident in their abilities. We train them to be able to do everything that will come their way on that test. But for some they still want to imagine things happening that they aren’t prepared for despite the fact that they indeed are prepared for it. If I am in right relationship with God I will be able to rightly represent Him in whatever comes along.

I must be continually studying God’s “playbook.” I must arrive at the point at which I fully realize that in His Strength I am ready for whatever comes my way.

PLEASE understand that I absolutely have to be living/learning in close relationship to Him. I am positively not advocating preparation apart from God. That is pure folly!

“Lord, my confidence must be grounded in You. My fears indicate that it is not. Forgive me for my lack of faith. You are Almighty. You have every answer/solution I will ever need. Saturate me with Your Holy Spirit. Guide me, O thou great Jehovah!”

Will you in His Strength, speak up for Him?

+7 turkey dinner

hwfm-August-19

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Galatians

Comments are closed.