Clean up your act!

“You must purge the evil from among you.” Deuteronomy 22:21.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Deuteronomy 22-24, and Galatians 4.

I am quite certain that this reference has to do with setting rules for group conduct.

I choose to internalize it.

I cannot wallow in mud without getting dirty.

If I examine my life, I know what it takes for me to go off the deep end. Certain buttons get pressed and away I plunge.

In the midst of such things, I know I’m where I shouldn’t be. Can I stop? Not always.

The cure for me is to avoid getting anywhere near the potentially troublesome areas. Sometimes that is easier said than done.

This all traces back to my relationship with God. When I am living full-time in His presence, I have a much better chance of representing Him the way I must.

Satan is extremely powerful. He knows when we are vulnerable. He whispers to us as he did to Eve: “This is okay this time.” And the next thing we know we’re in the deep (godless) mire.

When I fail Him I feel miserable afterwards. I cry out for forgiveness because I don’t want anything to interfere with my relationship to God. I want to be able to rightly represent Him and I know that sin interferes with that desire.

It is an ongoing struggle and I CANNOT win the battle apart from Him.

“Lord, purge the evil from within me. I want to be clean and usable. Forgive me for ever finding pleasure away from You. Continue to prick my conscience when I am in the wrong so that I can repent and be restored to fellowship with You. I love You, Father!”

You must cry out to God for help in extracting yourself from known evil.  You can’t do it without Him.

+6 steady

hwfm-sept-27

Leave a comment

Filed under Deuteronomy

Comments are closed.