He can harden hearts and He can soften them!

“For it was the Lord himself who hardened their hearts to wage war against Israel, so that he might destroy them totally, exterminating them without mercy, as the Lord had commanded Moses.”  Joshua 11:20.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Joshua 9-11, and 1 Corinthians 6.

I enjoy replays of the Super Bowls in which the New England Patriots were the winners.  It’s the sense of knowing the outcome before things get underway.  No room for concern; everything is going to be okay.

The Israelites often knew how things would go in battle even before the battle actually started.  How?  God told them.  One time, on the way to The Promised Land, they were told not to engage a certain enemy because God wasn’t going to be with them.  They went ahead anyhow and were badly beaten.

In the book of Joshua, after many of the successes, this phrase shows up; “because the Lord, the God of Israel, fought for Israel.”

God was on their side.  They couldn’t lose.  God wasn’t on their side.  They couldn’t win.

If I want my life to be Godly, I must be sure that God is with me.  That’s plain and simple!

In today’s verse we have the Lord informing us that He had hardened the heart of an enemy.  Instead of the enemy realizing that attacking Israel was a disaster-to-be, the enemy went all-in anyhow.  That set this enemy up for a complete wipeout.

One other takeaway from this passage is that if God can “harden” hearts, He must also be able to “open” hearts.

That thought today gave me great joy because I know that those in my family, who have various degrees of hardening of heart against God, can be changed.  How?  The God that allows their hearts to be currently hardened has the power to change their hearts to “open.”  He can do it!

I feel a boost to intercede with Him, as Abraham did over Sodom’s inhabitants.  A God that can harden hearts can also open hearts.  Am I willing to pound heaven’s door on behalf of my family?  And are you regarding your family?

“Lord, Your power is unlimited.  Unsaved family members can have their hearts opened to their need for a relationship with You.  O God, I ask for them right now.  Open hearts, I beg.  Fill them with a need for You.  Bring Your answers their way.  O Father!”

Are you ready to give up on unbelieving family members?  Don’t!

+6 steady

snow-porch

Leave a comment

Filed under Joshua

Comments are closed.