We must have God’s timing

“Be careful, however, that the exercise of your rights does not become a stumbling block to the weak.”  1 Corinthians 8:9.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Joshua 15-17, and 1 Corinthians 8.

There is a fine line in this one.

God tells us to know Him.  God also tells us to love others as we love ourselves.  Is there a point at which my “knowing things” can affect my manner of loving others?

The answer is, “Yes.”  I may be convinced that going to church on Sunday is essential.  Someone else may need to be gainfully employed on Sundays.  I can overplay my hand over that one without too much trouble.

Paul tells me, “to be careful.”  God needs to be in the details of my life.

Going to church on Sunday does not impact my salvation nor does not going to church.

If someone insists that being a good person will earn them an after-life with God, then we’re talking about something different.  They have it wrong and need to be confronted about it.  If someone works on Sunday, they do so out of necessity.  Is there something that would benefit them spiritually in gathering with other believers on Sundays?  I happen to think so, BUT God is in charge of the details of their lives, not I!

My task is to be totally committed to Him.  If God wants me involved in lifestyle change in someone else, then my part must be done completely under His Guidance.

“Lord, I want to get this one right.  I want to rightly represent You.  Sometimes that means being quiet.  Other times it means to somehow intervene.  I beg You to give me Your Timing!  I love You, Father.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

If I am disconnected from God I will be a mess-up looking for a place to happen!

+6 steady

hw-9

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Corinthians

Comments are closed.