How about you getting into spiritual shape?

“I strike a blow to my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize.”  1 Corinthians 9:27.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Joshua 18-20, and 1 Corinthians 9.

You tell others what to do and then you don’t follow your own instruction.  How silly!

Paul has done plenty of preaching about how to live.  Now he tells himself that his preaching needs to apply to himself.

How often I pray for other folks asking God to intercede in their lives.  To take them over.  To penetrate their waywardness.  Sure is easy to see and diagnose the needs of others, isn’t it?

But how often do I clearly see myself?  I need all that I’m asking for others and more so.

I wonder if my extensive praying for others is an indicator that I imagine myself as one with fewer needs.  My life is together and others need to arrive at the same place?

How sad that would be, for I am indeed needy.  I can never see myself as “arrived.”  Nothing I have is my own.  I have absolutely no control of my future.

I must draw myself to God.  I must be connected to Him 24/7.  How dare I think that spiritual discipline doesn’t apply to me!

I must see the needy in my midst and be willing to help as God leads.  However, I must be sure that God is at the center of my own life.  That I am in steady communion with Him.  That I am doing everything I need to do to be spiritually fit.

“Lord, I often feel as if I have no clue as to what I should be doing.  I want to do what pleases You and sadly I go about this in my own way.  It never works.  Help me to get my life right with You.  Help me to gain spiritual strength so that I can better represent You in my midst.  Thank You for Your Patience with me.  I love You, Father.”

Are you the type who can see the spiritual needs of others better than your own?

+6 turkey dinner

d6

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Corinthians

Comments are closed.