Fear Him and serve Him

“Now fear the Lord and serve him with all faithfulness.”  Joshua 24:14.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Joshua 23-24, Psalm 44, and 1 Corinthians 11.

This sums up what Joshua told the Israelites as he prepared for his death.

Forget the generalities, this gets right to the heart of it.

“Fearing God is not mere belief in Him.  It is to be so filled with joyful awe before the magnificence of God, that we tremble at the privilege of knowing, serving, and pleasing Him.”  That’s a Tim Keller quote.

There is a high level of belief that I must desire.  The casual relationship with Him is unacceptable.  I must see His handiwork in my midst and marvel at it.  I must hear that way as well.

Too often I take what I have for granted.  I make assumptions that they are my reward for being such a godly person.  What foolishness!

I must get away from trying to lead God to where I’m going.  Independent of God, there will be space for me to lead.  With Him there will not be.

I must frequently ask, “Lord, what do you want me to do.”  I must be willing to wait for Him.  There are so many things I can do in my midst while I wait.  Will I open my eyes to the opportunities?

“Lord, You are my God.  You love me and I love You.  You died for my heaven-separating sins.  As a sinner I accept my need for Your death and I believe that You died specifically for my sins.  I surrender to You.  Lead me, Father, I pray.”

You now know what God wants from you.

+6 steady

hwfm-sept-29

Leave a comment

Filed under Joshua

Comments are closed.