Are we telling His Story to family?

“After that whole generation had been gathered to their ancestors, another generation grew up who knew neither the Lord nor what he had done for Israel.”  Judges 2:10.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Judges 1-3, and 1 Corinthians 12.

How could this happen?  A real tragedy if you think about it!

How do the young learn?  From the old.  We tell stories of what happened to us and in the process relay a history of what is important.

We may tell stories of events that were pleasant or maybe about events that were unpleasant.  Either way we share the key pieces to our past.

How then could this have happened to Israel?  They produced a generation that didn’t have a relationship with God.  They produced a generation that hadn’t heard of the things that God had done.  It was as if God did not exist in the lives of the previous generation!   How tragic.

Do we do the same things?  The answer is, “Yes.”

I cringe at how I have dropped the ball spiritually within my own family.  Do they know that I love God with all my heart?  Do they know that I have committed my life to God?  They must know these things?

Maybe some of what I am, and what is important to me, will reach them indirectly.

I worry, at this moment, that those within the next generation in my family do not know God, or all the things He has done for me/them, and it is because of me.

What to do about it?  I must be clinging to God every second of my remaining days.  I cannot do anything in my own strength to get my family “up to speed” spiritually.  It must be from Him.  I must be so filled with God that in an non-contrived way I live it out, and speak it out, to those in my family.  Easy task?  Definitely, not.  Why?  Because of my fluctuating relationship with God.  I MUST lock in to Him full-time.

“Help me, Lord.  I weep at the prospect of my family’s next generation not knowing You or even knowing about You.  O Lord, how tragic it potentially is!  I do not want any of them to miss You.  To live a life unaware of You.  Unaware of all that you have done.  Unaware of Your expectations.  Help me, Father to get this right.  Saturate me with You.  Bring my family to You, I beg!”

Jesus wept over Jerusalem.  Why?  He could see that many there were going to miss who He was?  How about your family?  Do you have the same concern for those who are missing Him so far?

Sunrise-on-May-10th

Leave a comment

Filed under Judges

Comments are closed.