Life is short

“You have made my days a mere handbreadth; the span of my years is as nothing before you.  Everyone is but a breath, even those who seem secure.”  Psalm 39:5.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Judges 4-5, Psalm 39 & 41, and 1 Corinthians 13.

I cannot assume anything when it comes to the length of my life.

The length of them is out of my hands.  God makes that choice.

Apparent health cannot be included in an assumption of days left in my life.  Healthy folks die all the time.  Unhealthy folks recover and live longer than expected.

If I can collect in my brain the fact that my days are short, I will live out my remaining days differently.

This is not a new theme.  It wasn’t long ago in my daily Bible reading (end of Deuteronomy) where a very healthy Moses learned he would die.  God had numbered Moses’ days.

How then should I live?  I must be filled with the Holy Spirit.  Where that will take me, or not take me, is the course I want to be on.  I want my words and deeds to be filled with His touch.  I cannot live apart from Him for any deliberate instances.  If He’s not in it, neither should I be in it.

“Lord, You have given me many years of life.  I regret wasting so many of them in personal folly apart from You.  Forgive me.  I want the days left to totally honor You.  I want Your Words to be my words.  I want Your Thoughts to fill my head.  Direct my path ahead, I beg!”

You could be dead in the next instance.  Are you ready to leave?

best-raging-brook

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm, Psalms

Comments are closed.