Elkanah: role model

“But to Hannah he gave a double portion because he loved her, and the Lord had closed her womb.” 1 Samuel 1:5.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Samuel 1-2, Psalm 66, and 2 Corinthians 7.

Love in action.

Having children was crucial in the time of this story.

Hannah was unable to conceive yet Elkanah (her husband) loved her anyway.

In our society we have nothing equivalent to how extraordinary Elkanah’s behavior actually was.

The message for me is that I must love people as they are, not as I think that they ought to be.  My love should not fluctuate based on their performance.

Certainly an important home lesson for me.  How often does my disposition change over the performance of those within my household?  Way too often!

My life must be filled with God.  I need His presence to be overwhelming me.  If this happens, then the ups-and-downs of daily life will not impact me as they often do.

I am more and more convinced that I must pray myself to sleep at night and then wake up the next day praising Him.

In today’s story, Elkanah’s love for Hannah was removed from the circumstances they lived in.  Elkanah’s love was greater than that.  Mine needs to be at that level as well for those in my midst.

“Lord, another direct hit on my lifestyle.  Circumstances must not impact my relationship to You and to those in my midst.  Your love knows no boundaries and mine must not either.  Fill me with You so that Your Ways become my ways.  I love You, Father.”

Elkanah is a fine example of someone living a Godly life.

+6 steady

hw-4-7

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Samuel

Comments are closed.