Saul: Just like us?

Turks and Caicos

Turks and Caicos

“God changed Saul’s heart…” 1 Samuel 10:9.

“the Spirit of God came powerfully upon him..” 1 Samuel 10:10.

“Has the man come here yet?  And the Lord said, ’Yes, he has hidden himself among the supplies.” 1 Samuel 10:22.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Samuel 8-10, and 2 Corinthians 10.

Next time you go off the spiritual deep end, think of Saul.

Note the sequence: Saul is chosen and God is in him but later Saul tries to hide from his calling.

Think of how often we bask in God’s glory and later act as if we have forgotten Him.  It is a brutal sequence.

Why does it happen?  Think of the contrast between Samuel and Saul: Samuel is filled while Saul has only had a small dose….of God.

In my life I know that I still have spiritual ups and downs.  I am much more like Saul that I want to be.

On the plane yesterday (to Turks and Caicos) I again read the Brother Lawrence book on practicing the presence of God.  Simply told, the key to the best of spiritual living is constant awareness of God.  Can I live that way?  I certainly want to.

I must stay closely tied to God.  In the amazing setting I am now in (Turks and Caicos), it is simple to marvel at what God has done.  In other settings I must be just as keenly aware of Him.  Like Saul the settings determine, and they shouldn’t, how I’m doing.  That must change!

“Lord, I thank You for Your blatantly obvious beauty in my midst here at TCI.  What a Creator You are!  Open my eyes to You in “every” midst.  Forgive me for missing You.  I love You, Father.  Elevate me to a steadiness with You.”

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Samuel

Comments are closed.