Praying right

“As for me, far be it from me that I should sin against the Lord by failing to pray for you.”  1 Samuel 12:23.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Samuel 11-12, 1 Chronicles 1, and 2 Corinthians 11.

Samuel had reason to turn against the Israelites.  They had insisted that they needed a king and in the process rejected his leadership as directed by God.

Samuel, however, announces that he would still pray for the Israelites anyway.

How selective is my praying?  Do I decide who I should pray for or do I pray as needs come to my attention?

The Israelites certainly needed prayer because they were embarking on following the lead of a human (Saul).  There would be trouble ahead for sure and Samuel could have beaten them to death with, “I told you so” but chose not to.

I must learn to be spontaneous with my prayers.  A need comes and I must connect to God.  A problem is averted I connect to God in thanksgiving.

God’s ways are not always my ways.  I want them to always be my ways, however.  Linking my life to Him is the only way to make this happen.

Samuel connected to need rather than to character.  That should my way as well.

“Lord, I am weak and You are strong.  Teach me Your ways, Lord.  I cannot rightly function apart from You.  Prick my conscience when I get it wrong so that I can change.  I want to honor You in everything I do.  In Your strength I can.”

Are there folks you won’t pray for??

hw-4-11

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Samuel

Comments are closed.