Waffling

“’But I did obey the Lord,’” Saul said.  ‘I went on a mission the Lord assigned me.  I completely destroyed the Amalekites and brought back Agag their king.  The soldiers took sheep and cattle from the plunder, the best of what was devoted to God, in order to sacrifice them to the Lord your God at Gilgal.’”  1 Samuel 15:20-21.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Samuel 15-16, 1 Chronicles 5, and Matthew 1.

King Saul was a big-time waffler.

He was told by Samuel to do a specific thing BUT altered the details of the intended completion to suit himself.  Then when confronted, tried to justify his actions.

God clearly knew the difference!

How often do we rationalize our actions?  The answer is, “Often.”

If I am walking tight with God, I will obey Him precisely.

When I am walking apart from Him there is a regular need to create an explanation for my behavior that puts it in a better light.

Saul, as in yesterday’s entry, is confronted by Samuel about his disobedience.  Today he decides to blame his soldiers for his disobedience.

The pattern of behavior was established and God moved on from Saul.

I want to do what God wants me to do.  It needs to be COMPLETE obedience.  Will I do His thing in the midst of options?

Will I immediately own up to mistakes?  Will I realize that even though I am older and educated I am not always wiser?

“O Lord, so much here for me.  Too often I flounder on the details of obeying You.  Too often I choose a “better” way that certainly isn’t.  Forgive me.  Fill me with You as You toss out the sludge that I have allowed entry.  O Father, have mercy on me a sinner!”

Do you follow God to the letter?  That is what He expects.

hw-4-14

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Samuel

Comments are closed.