Live attached to Him

“Produce fruit in keeping with repentance.”  Matthew 3:8.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Samuel 18, 1 Chronicles 6, Psalm 11, and Matthew 3.

John the Baptist is after the Pharisees on this one.

But as I read it I cannot help but think of myself as one of the Pharisees.

The religious front is prominent: Bible reader, prayer, and church goer.  Restrained of speech and working at being Godly.  But God is not fooled by the exterior.  He knows my heart.  He knows the things that I can’t/won’t let go.  Things that do me no spiritual good.  Things that have been ongoing.

Feeling badly at the moment is not enough.  I need to cease and desist.  I need to no longer do things that pull me away from God.

I have had time to week to be with folks who are not outspoken believers.  My normal religious atmosphere is not to be found.  I feel uncomfortable in that setting.  I want Christian music.  I want conversations about God things.  I want prayer together.  But those are external things.  My Godly internals must not change no matter where I am at.  What sort of Godliness do I have if unsettling circumstances mess it up?

I need to be filled with the Holy Spirit.  I must be producing the fruit of someone who belongs completely to God.

“Lord, forgive me for letting circumstances drive my behavior.  My behavior must be driven by my relationship to You.  When my behavior loses traction I know that I am getting godlessly self-motivated.  I love You, Lord.  Fill me with You.  Overwhelm me with You.  You are my God.”

Our behavior must reveal an internal life locked in to God.

hw-4-16

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Matthew

Comments are closed.