What is a “good” gift?

“If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!”  Matthew 7:11.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Samuel 23, Psalm 31 & 54, and Matthew 7.

God knows best what His children need.

“I thank Him ahead of time for giving me what I would have asked for if I knew everything he knew.” Tim Keller.

God knows all about me.  He doesn’t have to check in with others to sort out what would be best for me.

It makes me wonder about specific prayers.  I almost sense that in them I am actually taking God out of making the choices and relying on myself.

I wanted a long lens for my camera for quite a while.  I never dared to pray to have one.  My wife wasn’t sure I needed one and I didn’t have the money to afford one.  I also wasn’t sure that I needed that piece of camera equipment.  I joined a monthly photography group with the hope of learning how to correctly use the equipment I had.  In just a few sessions I realized that the equipment and skill level of the elites in that group qualified me as a beginner in skills and equipment.  I actually started to stay away from the group because of being intimidated.  Then a couple of months ago it was announced via email that the group was going to have a photo equipment swap.  People could bring their extra equipment to see if someone else might want it.  I felt drawn to go and went with no intentions or money expecting to find expensive equipment that I would not to use or afford.  What happened was that only one man was at the event with equipment and that one man had several lenses for sale.  One of them was exactly the long lens I had seen being used by other sporting events’ shooters.  I had my camera with me (I always carry it) and I was able to try the lens out on my camera’s body.  Nice fit.  I had been working part-time (driver’s ed) and I had the money to afford the lens I could use.

Long story but to me it shows how God works.  God knew the desire of my heart.  I wasn’t sure that a lens should be the desire of my heart so I let it go.  I believe that God intervened and with His miraculous timing delivered a “good” gift.

“Lord, You know what I need and what I don’t need.  I relinquish any effort to tell You what You should give me.  I ask for Your wisdom as I make choices this day.  You truly know what is best for me.  Thank you for Your many good gifts to me.  What a God!”

Do you want what God wants or what you want?  Think about how you pray.

+8 progress

sunrise-1

Leave a comment

Filed under Matthew

Comments are closed.