My actions reveal the condition of my heart

“As the old saying goes, ‘From evildoers come evil deeds,’ so my hand will not touch you.”  1 Samuel 24:13.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Samuel 24, Psalms 57-58, 1 Chronicles 8, and Matthew 8.

What we do reveals what is in our hearts.

This truth is so obvious.

I can claim to be Godly but if my actions betray it then who could I think I’m fooling?  People in my midst certainly aren’t fooled and for sure God isn’t fooled.

An important spiritual step is to take ownership of my behavior.  I need to “call out” my behavior when it needs calling out.  What do I mean?  If I do something wrong, I must not only recognize that it is wrong but I must also recognize that the behavior reveals that something is also wrong with my relationship to God.

This is important because wrong, untended to, is like a mustard seed – small seed but capable of becoming a bigger problem.

Festering, undealt with, sin will rear its’ ugly head over and over again.  A believer, in non-stop communion with God, will constantly be aware of such a festering heart problem.  The beauty of a close relationship to God is that sin cannot fester.  It gets pointed out or it exposes itself in behavior.

“Lord, make me mindful of sin in my life.  Do not allow it to take root.  I want a clean, unfettered relationship with You full-time.  Help me, Father, I beg!”

Our behavior reveals the condition of our hearts.  A believer will not let evil fester in their life.

+9 turkey dinner

hw-4-4

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Samuel

Comments are closed.