In or out?

“Whoever acknowledges me before others, I will also acknowledge before my Father in heaven.  But whoever disowns me before others, I will disown before my Father in heaven.”  Matthew 10:32-33.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Samuel 27, Psalm 141, 1 Chronicles 9, and Matthew 10.

What Peter did before the rooster crowed is not what this is taking about.

On Judgment Day it will be very clear who those are who have refused to name Jesus as the Lord of their lives.

It may be said that the biggest enemy of the Christian church is the silence of the Christians within it.

I believe that God provides plenty of opportunities for us to display our belief in Him.  Those in our immediate midst have the best chance to see our professed love for God in word and deed.  In the workplace, sometimes the opening comes to voice an opinion on things.  I find that I can express what I hope is a Godly opinion in the local newspaper.

How readily will we confess our allegiance to God if it may cost us something?  In Matthew 10, Jesus makes it quite clear that allegiance to Him could well get you hated maybe even within your own family!  That’s a serious price to pay but in His strength we are told to venture there.  He’ll give us the right words.  He knows and will reward what we do.

“Lord, I want to do Your Will everywhere I’m at.  I am far from fearless and must surely have You leading me.  Prevent me from going where I shouldn’t and saying what need not be said.  I am not good at these things so I beg for Your full saturation in my life of Your Holy Spirit.  You are my God.  I love You.”

Would your love for God be news to those who know you?  It shouldn’t be.

+9 on the edge

June-27-CMBG

Leave a comment

Filed under Matthew

Comments are closed.