Filled with God or empty

“That is how it will be with this wicked generation.”  Matthew 12:45.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Samuel 30-31, 1 Chronicles 10, and Matthew 12.

In Matthew 12:43-45, we find a story of someone who has had a demon leave them but in the end we find out that that demon and seven other demons return to the same person.

What’s it all about?  A person without God must rely on something/someone else.  Those alternatives (to God) have serious limitations.  They’re terminal for one thing.

Nothing will ever fill my life as God can.  If I love anything/anyone more than God I have given my allegiance a counterfeit god.

My life must be filled with Him.

The verses are directed toward those of us choosing alternative “fillers” in our lives.  It must stop.  We need to be certain that what has out attention is within His will for our lives.

Can I invite Him comfortably along in the activities I choose?

I have a sense that I need to be more diligent in seeking to serve the needy more directly.  I have chosen, most of my life, to serve long range……….write a check, pray etc..

“Lord, fill every part of me with You.  Make me uncomfortable whenever I have left You out of what I’m doing.  I want You to be the center.  I want to always be revolving around You.  Take me over, Lord.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.  I love You, Father.”

What is your life filled with?  Emptiness?  Fill it with Him.

+10 Boomers

02-07-15 sunrise colors at 367

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Matthew

Comments are closed.