Getting it right

“He said to them, ‘Therefore every teacher of the law who has become a disciple in the kingdom of heaven is like the owner of a house who brings out of his storeroom new treasures as well as old.’”  Matthew 13:52.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 2 Samuel 1, Psalm 140, and Matthew 13.

My learning must not reach an end.

God has plenty to teach me and I will learn best if I have a foundation of learning in place.

Learning can involve things I shouldn’t do anymore as well as things I should begin doing.

I believe that if I am completely open to God, He will prepare me to do what He knows I can best do.  My part is being willing.

I think of the many things that I have been involved in.  Some of them have been worthwhile.  Others I reflect on wondering why I felt the need to put so much energy into them.  I must have God sorting out my priorities and I must be willing to be bold in whatever direction He sends me.

I have so many wonderful Christian resources handy to me.  Will I use them or merely collect them?

God expects me to be willing to move forward with a solid foundation in place.  Am I willing to do both?  Each certainly has its own set of challenges.

My life must be fully surrendered to Him.  I cannot spend any time away from Him.  I must always walk in His light.  No traipsing into the shadows!

“Lord, I want to get things right spiritually.  I don’t want to miss anything that You want me doing or not doing.  Guide me.  Saturate me.  Wash me and I will be whiter than snow.  Get into my head full-time.  I can think of nothing better to happen.  I love You, Father.

Are you stuck in a learning-about-God rut?  Are you willing to chase Him not sit on the porch and wait for Him to pass by?

+9 steady but too high

hwfm-July-23

Leave a comment

Filed under Matthew

Comments are closed.