Don’t try it on your own

“Then the disciples came to Jesus in private and asked, ‘Why couldn’t we drive it out?’  He replied, ‘Because you have so little faith.  Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move.  Nothing will be impossible for you.’” Matthew 17:19-20.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: 2 Samuel 6, 1 Chronicles 13, Psalm 68, and Matthew 17.

In my own strength I can do plenty of things but without God in them I am wasting my time.

The disciples in these verses had been empowered but somewhere along the line had lost their empowerment.  It could be that they were basking in their own glory.  Whatever the flaw, they made fools of themselves.

How easy it is to be self-absorbed.  Who wants to minimize someone’s praise of us?  Aw, shucks!

However, every good gift and every perfect gift is from God.  We must always cite Him.  We must never selfishly accept credit without being mindful that His hand was in it.

I walk must be so close to Him that I instantly know His part in what happens.  How can I take credit for anything when He is right there with me?  How shameful of me?  He is omnipresent.  When will I respond to praise as if it is really true?

We invite guests for supper and my wife prepares a wonderful meal.  Afterwards, I take credit for the meal!  If it wouldn’t happen in that situation, why do I let it happen in other situations?

“Lord, I miss so much of You.  I get it wrong so often.  You, the Creator, are with me.  How dare I even assume that what I have done is a credit to me!  You are God.  You unload good and perfect gifts on me.  Thank You.  To You alone, be the glory!”

God deserves all praise.  If you actually believed that He is with you, would you ever dare to take credit for things?

+9 regression

hwfm-Sept-2

Leave a comment

Filed under Matthew

Comments are closed.