Let’s get it right this time!

“It was because of you, the Levites, did not bring it up the first time that the Lord our God broke out in anger against us.  We did not inquire of him about how to do it in the prescribed way.”  1 Chronicles 15:13.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading:  1 Chronicles 14-15, Psalm 132, and Matthew 18.

God is always ready to help.  To give confirmation.  Do we see our need?  Do we fear the consequences of getting it wrong?

When David decided to bring the Ark of the Covenant to Jerusalem, he got it wrong.  The Philistines had the Ark and were more than willing to get it out of their territory.

David’s problem was that in the process of bringing the Ark to Jerusalem specific instructions were ignored.  One No No was touching the Ark.  Because the Ark wasn’t being carried the way it was supposed to be carried, there was a moment where it began to fall.  One man tried to prevent the fall and he died instantly.  That certainly got David’s attention and he chose not to take the Ark any further for three months.

In those three months, David got up to speed on what God required in moving the Ark and this time made sure he knew the way it was supposed to be transported.

Doing things God’s way is crucial.  Why?  His way is best for me.  The alternative is an invitation to mess up.  Do damage.  Get God aggravated at me.

How can I know what to do?  I must position myself to hear His voice.  I must pray without ceasing.  I must read His Word with a thirsty spirit.  God knows His people.  He will communicate His will to us if we let Him.

“Lord, I want to get things right with You.  I want to be Your representative in my midst and elsewhere.  Show me the path I need to travel.  Guide my footsteps and my pace.  Prick my conscience when I am straying.  Get my attention so that I can get things right.  I love You, Father.”

If you choose to ignore God’s way, and you’re a believer, look out below!

+8 surprising to me

July-20th

 

Leave a comment

Filed under I Chronicles

Comments are closed.