Are you chasing a pat on the back?

“So the last will be first, and the first will be last.”  Matthew 20:16.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 2 Samuel 8-9, 1 Chronicles 18-19, and Matthew 20.

How normal for us to make assumptions about what God will do or won’t do.  Also how silly of us to attempt it!

God’s ways are unknown to us.

My role is to follow Him as closely as possible.

Following God should not be done for the possible reward that may come my way.  I must be a Godly servant.  A servant that doesn’t make decisions.  A servant that waits for instructions.  A servant that works joyfully.  A servant that rightfully represents his Master.

I wonder how much of God’s plan I have missed because I have wasted time evaluating the obvious tasks God, my Master, wants me undertaking.  How disgruntled I have been while doing the work He has given me to do.

So often I feel a failure in being a Godly person.  So often I regret things.  So often I see opportunities missed.  It is easy to be self-loathing BUT my Master still loves me.  His love is overwhelming and I dare not forget it.  He is a marvelous God.  He truly is the Master of the universe and He is my Master!  I will be part of His new heaven and new earth in the future.

“Lord, forgive me for having confused thinking about You.  I love You.  I thank You for giving me every good gift and every perfect I have.  I thank You that You control my future.  I want to be Your servant this day.  Empower me.  Help me to be mindful of You without ceasing.  Thank You, Father.”

Do you live as if you are God’s co-pilot or His servant?

+8 progress

hwfm-July-25

Leave a comment

Filed under Matthew

Comments are closed.