Ready or not?

“As it was in the days of Noah, so it will be at the coming of the Son of Man.”  Matthew 24:37.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 2 Samuel 13-14, and Matthew 24.

Surprise, surprise, surprise!

When Jesus returns, many are going to be very, very surprised.

They aren’t expecting Jesus to come back, in fact they weren’t sure that He came to earth in the first place.  That was a fairy tale in a book that nobody believes anymore………at least so they think.

But Jesus will be coming back and we are to be ready for His return.

He left instructions before He left.  We are to represent Him in the place He has put us.  He will be returning.

If I know that someone could come to my house at any minute, there is no time to be slacking off.

The folks in Noah’s day had plenty of time to do something about the upcoming flood.  They chose to ignore it.  They even mocked those who were preparing for the flood.  How similar to today.  Evangelists, ministers, pastors, and missionaries are spelling out the need to prepare for His return.   How do you prepare?  Become a believer.  Realize that Jesus took care of your sin problem.  Realize that a life filled with Him is available.

How will I live if I am unaware of when His return will happen?  I may slack off spiritually.  I might find more important things to do than to have an unceasing relationship with Him.  Silly me!  I must be ingrained with a need to live in the now with Him.  To saturate myself with Him so that I can rightly represent Him in the immediate.

“O Lord, forgive me for not living in a prepared state for Your return.  Forgive me for living a messy life.  Tasks unfinished.  Books unread.  Relationships not maintained.  I need to be Godly in everything I do so that I will be spiritually ready when the Messiah returns.  What a day that will be for the prepared!  What a troubling time for those with unfinished business.  What an even more troubling time for those, like those in Noah’s day, who will die because of their rejection of You.  Calamitous times for sure.  O Father, help me to be ready, I beg.”

Jesus is coming back whether you believe it or not.  Are you ready for His return?

+9 slippage

hw-May-7

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Matthew

Comments are closed.