Even His disciples weren’t sure who He was

“When they saw him, they worshiped him, but some doubted.”  Matthew 28:17.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 2 Samuel 19-20, Psalm 55, and Matthew 28.

These are the eleven disciples we’re talking about!

There are folks who will tell you that if they had lived when Jesus was living they would certainly have believed.  But here you have folks who spent nearly three years with Jesus and when He shows up they aren’t sure about Him.

It is safe to say that Jesus looked different.  The doubtful ones may have thought that He was a ghost.  Knowing He was dead may have caused them to struggle to believe that He could return to life.

Therefore, my suspicion is that the “doubt” was over the physical Jesus.  When He spoke to them, I suspect that all of the eleven realized that this was indeed Jesus.

I must avoid notions of my own about how God functions.  Thinking that I can dispatch or instruct God is folly on my part.  God knows best.  My roles are to trust Him and go where He leads me.

“Lord, forgive me for dispatching You so often with specific instructions.  You are already on the scene.  I need to recognize that fact and act accordingly.  Forgive me for missing what You want me doing.  Please prick my conscience when I am missing Your intentions.  How dare I imagine that I can run my own affairs.  Your mercy in my direction is unbelievable.  Thank You, Father.”

Do you recognize Jesus?

+9 steady, high

hw-May-11

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Matthew

Comments are closed.