Fix the wrong

“After that, God answered prayer….” 2 Samuel 21:14.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 2 Samuel 21-23, and 1 Thessalonians 1.

God knows what His followers are doing.  How often do we think otherwise?

“Wrong” does not have a size.  It is just plain wrong.  It is also wrong done against God.

Israel had done something wrong many years earlier and it had not been dealt with.  Three successive years of famine finally got David’s attention and he asked God what needed to be done.

David, many times the good role model, learned what the problem was and took care of it.

The closer I am to God the more sin bothers me.  I feel uncomfortable.  I feel troubled.  I can’t rest on it.  And I think that this reaction is great.  Sin must be dealt with at once.

How many believers carry sin and wonder why their relationship with God is thrown off?

One of the best things a believer can do is to ask God to point out sin that hasn’t been dealt with.  Things pop in there pretty fast!  We can still continue to minimize the sin but for the believer it just won’t leave our consciousness.

However, once sin is dealt with there is a peace that is amazing.  There still may be trouble.  The others involved may not be so sunny about our attempts at reconciliation but that isn’t the point.  The point is that we have gotten clean with God.  We can now move on with Him unencumbered.

“Lord, see if there be any wicked way in me and reveal it to me.  I want to be clean with You.  I want to travel “light” with You.  Prick my conscience when I am wayward.  Don’t give me any peace until I get things right with You.  I love You, Father.

A believer cannot live comfortably very long without dealing with past sin.

+9 turkey dinner

hw-may-12

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 Samuel

Comments are closed.