What does Satan do?

“For we wanted to come to you – certainly I, Paul, did, again and again – but Satan blocked our way.”  1 Thessalonians 1:18.

“Now Satan entered the scene and seduced David into taking a census of Israel.”  1 Chronicles 21:1 (Message).

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: 2 Samuel 24, 1 Chronicles 21, Psalm 30, and 1 Thessalonians 2.

What’s Satan like?

You get a pretty good picture in today’s chosen verses.

Note that Satan is working on two of the Bible’s best known characters: Paul and David.

It should not surprise us that we run into Satan in our own lives.

Another point is that Satan got his way with both Paul and David.  We are going to fail God.  Things are not always going to go the way we thought that they should.

The “easy” spiritual answer after reading these two verses is that both characters could have been Godlier.  Then Satan would have been cast aside.  Probably true in David’s case.  He was even advised by Joab not to go ahead with a census but he plowed ahead anyhow.

Paul, on the other hand, had other options as to where he could minister.  I believe that he wrote Thessalonians because he couldn’t physically go there.  God’s plan, no doubt.

My relationship must be tight to God so that I will know what He wants me to do and not do.  I cannot rely on my own intuition to get it right.  God’s Ways are elusive to the casual follower.

“Father, I need You every second.  Guide me, I beg.  Open doors.  Close doors.  I need not figure why.  I just want to be where You want me to be doing what You want me to do.  Direct me in that direction, I beg.  Thank You, Father.”

Do not ever underestimate Satan.

+9 steady but still high

hw-May-13

Leave a comment

Filed under I Chronicles, I Thessalonians

Comments are closed.