How to live…….for believers

“And in fact, you do love all of God’s family throughout Macedonia.  Yet we urge you, brothers and sisters, to do so more and more, and to make it your ambition to lead a quiet life: You should mind your own business and work with your hands, just as we told you, so that your daily life may win the respect of outsiders and so that you will not be dependent on anybody.”  1 Thessalonians 4: 10-12.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Chronicles 25-27, and 1 Thessalonians 4.

Plenty of good advice for believers from Paul in today’s chosen verses.

Each believer can examine their life in relation to these verses.  Some of us would say of one part, “That’s not my issue,” while for others might feel conviction.

Note that I write this blog from where I see myself spiritually and I am impacted by the phrase, “lead a quiet life.”  I have had life-long confidence issues.  A need to get things right.  A need to receive sincere praise for work done.  It is an ungodly drive for sure and it is not far from surfacing at any time.  The leading a quiet life phrase tells me to live for God’s “well done’s,” not those of humans.  God sees me in action.  God catches what I’m up to and my motivation.

I need to become uncomfortable when I’m seeking commendation.  I need to be uncomfortable when I receive commendation UNLESS I turn it back to God.

“Lord, forgive me for missing You in my lifestyle.  My ultimate drive must be to please You.  Forgive me for trying to draw praise from humans.  My goal must be to pursue praise from You.  Guide me in that direction, I beg.  I love You, Father.”

Paul gives some very clear lifestyle pointers for believers in today’s text.  We must be driven to get our life into His order!

+8 finally

hw-May-15

Leave a comment

Filed under I Thessalonians

Comments are closed.