Adonijah: Spoiled Brat

“His father had never rebuked him by asking, ‘Why do you behave as you do?’” 1 Kings 1:6.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Kings 1, 1 Chronicles 28, Psalm 91, and 1 Thessalonians 5.

An unrebuked child?  What could go wrong?  Better asked, what couldn’t go wrong!

How easily we idolize the characters of the Bible.  David is certainly one such character.  Think of his mighty deeds.  Recall his marvelous Psalms.

And then a story like this comes along.  David did not mentor his fourth son, Adonijah.  David let Adonijah fashion his own lifestyle.  There were no corrections.  There was no tough-love guidance.

The consequences of David’s misguided fathering came home to roost in 1 Kings 1.  God had told David that his son Solomon would follow him to the throne.  Adonijah, who was older than Solomon, considered himself to be next in line to the throne.

Adonijah went off on his own, with a collected following, and tried to take the throne.

The ending of the story was not as disastrous as it could have been because Bathsheba intervened, and with the help of several others, convinced David to make Solomon king immediately.

I need to have people willing to correct me.  I need to be challenged about choices I make.  I need to be willing to listen to correction and, at the minimum, consider the correction.  When I position no one with that authority, I can embark on a course of life similar to Adonijah’s.

Do we have people in our lives that we have authorized to ask us the, “Why do you behave as you do?”, question?  After reading today’s story, I am convinced that it is certainly something to consider doing.

“Lord, I need all the help You can give me.  Work through the folks in my midst to get me into Your Way, not my own way.  Send correctors into my life to raise behavior questions to me.  Enable me to hear out those who love me and help me to react in You to them.  O Lord, how I need You!”

If you’re not getting tough love from anyone you are lacking something important.

+8 progress

hw-May-16

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.