Are you setting yourself up for punishment?

“He will punish those who do not know God and do not obey the gospel of our Lord Jesus.”  2 Thessalonians 1:8.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Kings 2, 1 Chronicles 29, Psalm 95, and 2 Thessalonians 1.

Notice that the chosen verse does not start with, “He will consider.”  It is going to happen.

Knowing that there will be punishment for some folks, should accelerate an urgency in each of us to get away from such a consequence.

There are two types of people who will be punished: (1) those who don’t know God, and (2) those who know ABOUT God but haven’t acted accordingly.

There are people who convince themselves that there is no God.  They dismiss the creation that they live in as having no Creator.  It just happened.  It evolved from something.  It was not the handiwork of anyone.

The disobedience of the second group is knowing something (Good News) but refusing to act on the information.  They know that the ice on the river is thin yet they still try to walk across on it.

Others have heard the good news and live in its reality. Jesus died for their sins and has given them new life.  They have figured out that they are no longer what they were before this realization set in. They are forgiven people.

I thank God for sending Jesus to die for my sins.  I thank Him for the new life I have in Him because of it.  I am right with Him.  There is no punishment awaiting.

Readers, you need to get this one right.  I do not know where any of you are on this.  I am telling you that the Good News is good news.  Hear it and act accordingly.

“Lord, You have done great things for me.  I am unworthy but You loved me enough to take away my sins and those of everyone else.  We are in the clear with You.  Hallelujah!  Help us to live accordingly this day.”

Don’t just be a hearer of the Good News.

+8 steady

hw-May-17

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.