Asking right

“’So give your servant a discerning heart to govern your people and to distinguish between right and wrong.  For who is able to govern this great people of yours?’  The Lord was pleased that Solomon had asked for this.”  1 Kings 3:9-10.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Kings 3, 2 Chronicles 1, Psalm 78, and 2 Thessalonians 2.

Did you ever get a request turned down?  It happens to kids all the time.  Adults tend to think through requests before offering them.

Solomon was given the opportunity by God to ask for whatever he wanted.  Solomon became role-model material by his response.

Remember that he could ask for anything!

Solomon chooses wisdom.  He wants to know what he, as the leader, should do.

And God was delighted by such a request.  Why?  Because the request wasn’t a selfish one.  It was practical.  It was worthwhile.  It would benefit others.

Believers ask God for a lot of things.  How many of the requests are selfish?  We have needs and we ask for God’s help in meeting them.

How often do we ask for things that won’t benefit us if they are granted?

How often do we ask for wisdom?  For help in getting decisions right?  Our tendency is to decide, in our wisdom, what should happen and then invite God to get involved making it happen.  That’s wrong!

“Lord, You know best.  I therefore ask for Your insights as I travel through the uncertainties of this day.  I will surely mess things up and have.  I must have Your wisdom.  You were pleased with Solomon’s request.  I make the same one for myself asking that I would be filled with Your Wisdom this day.  I love You, Father.”

I believe that we can/should ask for what Solomon asked for.

+8 steady high

hw-May-18

Leave a comment

Filed under I Kings

Comments are closed.