Why did Solomon get what he asked for?

“God gave Solomon wisdom and very great insight, and a breadth of understanding as measureless as the sand on the seashore.”  1 Kings 4:29.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Kings 4-5, 2 Chronicles 2, Psalm 101, and 2 Thessalonians 3.

God asked, Solomon responded, and God gave.

If you recall, Solomon could have requested anything when God asked him what he wanted.  Not that he would have gotten an outlandish request but Solomon could have asked for such a thing.

However, Solomon’s request pleased the Lord (1 Kings 3:10) so you can be sure that it was a good one.

What did Solomon ask for?  In my lingo: “I want to be the best manager of Your people possible and have the ability to get right and wrong right.”

I believe that to a much lesser scale we can make the same request.  What would it look like?  “I want to live my life in as Godly a fashion including knowing/doing the right thing in every circumstance.”

As the woman willing to accept the crumbs off the table in the New Testament story, I believe that the Lord would honor such a “lesser scale” request and even be pleased with it.

Note in today’s chosen verse that Solomon got the heaviest dose imaginable of God’s wisdom.  God wants us to communicate with Him.  He hears us.  He honors requests.  Will we ask?

“Lord, I ask for Your guidance as I set out on this day.  I want to get things right and I request Your help to do it.  Fill me with You and Your Ways.  Forgive me of my pride and selfishness and all the other things in my life that keep me from following You as I should.  Break me of them, I beg.  You are a great God!”

Solomon asked for what God wanted to give him.

+8 steady but when +5?

hw-May-19

Leave a comment

Filed under I Kings

Comments are closed.