Don’t get close to that stuff!

“Keep to a path far from her, do not go near the door of her house.”  Proverbs 5:8.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Proverbs 4-6, and Romans 8.

Some difficulty is easily avoided.

Believers want to live a Godly life yet, how often do we mess it up?

Solomon’s advice is that we need to get as far away from temptations as we can.

It is difficult to keep away from temptation in our current age.  Two examples are television and the internet.

It doesn’t take long to figure out that there is an abundance of unsavory things on those two.  How often do parents monitor what their children are looking at?  My answer is: “Very often.”  Why?  Because the adults know what’s out there.  They, in fact, may have immersed themselves in some of the unsavory content.

How does a person “keep a path far from…” the unsavory material?  I think that a Godly person must quickly exit themselves from ungodly content.  I have not been to the movies in years.  I try to limit my TV viewing to sports and the Hallmark Channel.  The internet is the hardest one for me.  I go into sites to read news and am confronted along the margins with story titles that I know will get me where I shouldn’t be.

This is all part of a familiar them on this blog: My life must be entirely controlled by God.  I dare not loosen my grip on Him.  When I get into something I shouldn’t, I suspect that the omnipresent God stands at the doorway waiting for me to come to my senses.  He pricks my conscience and sometimes my response time to Him is embarrassing.  When I am tight to Him I won’t even open the “door.”

“Lord, I need You every second.  Forgive me for wandering into godless things.  I know better.  I feel so dirty when I do it.  I love You, Father.  Prick my conscience so that my entire life honors You.  You are the great God!”

You shouldn’t be looking at that stuff.  Do you know how to stop?

+9 too high!

hw-may-27

Leave a comment

Filed under Proverbs

Comments are closed.