Oh, Lord!

“But because of his great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions – it is by grace you have been saved.”  Ephesians 2:4-5.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible study: Ecclesiastes 1-3, Psalm 45, and Ephesians 2.

God sent Jesus the Messiah to rescue the world.  And believe me, the world needed rescuing.

God had used Israel to rescue the world.  He had blessed them and lived with them but they needed rescuing as much as the rest of the world.

But there were Old Testament verses about God sending an anointed King to rescue the world.  This King would have God’s Spirit in Him and would transform the world.

Jesus came to earth and died.  In His death all sin forever was condemned to death.  Sin’s power was lost because Jesus took it all with Him.

Jesus’ death took all of us out from under sin’s power.  We have a new life minus sin’s power.

Our life on earth is about taking part in rescuing the world from the grasp of sins which have lost their power.  We have new life in God and must live accordingly.  Jesus has promised to return and finish the work of restoring the world to what He intended it to be.

None of what God did for us was deserved.  He gave us what we didn’t deserve which is a life unburdened of the power of sin.

That is the Gospel, the Good News, and it happened whether you choose to believe it or not.  “My sins are gone I’ve been set free.  My God, my Savior has ransomed me.”

What Good News it is!

“Lord, thank You for Your grace.  Help me to live as You want me living.  Help me to sort out the part I should play in rescuing the world in my midst.  I love You, Father.”

God’s grace produced the Good News.

+10 foolish eating continues

hw-4-4

Leave a comment

Filed under Ephesians

Comments are closed.